Read-a-Thon Updates!

Ok, I decided to do an exclusive post for this so it’s more organized in this way. It’s gonna be updated every day until the end of the Read-a-Thon.

Updates

Monday – Day 1
Pages I’ve read today: 10
Total pages I’ve read: 10
Chosen books:

  • 20000 leagues under the sea (Julio Verne): I’m reading a spanish translation. “20000 leguas de viaje submarino”; Plutón Ediciones.
  • I stil don’t have my second book.

I was totally getting used to my blog and this new experience. At least I read the first 10 pages of my book, but I couldn’t join to the Tweet-Chat. But, here’s my assignment/challenge of today:

 

Tuesday – Day 2
Pages I’ve read today: 30
Total pages I’ve read: 40
Chosen books:

  • 20000 leagues under the sea (Julio Verne): I’m reading a spanish translation. “20000 leguas de viaje submarino”; Plutón Ediciones.
  • I stil don’t have my second book.

I’m so slow… Now I really notice my lack of practice. Well, I got into this read-a-thon to do that, so I’m okay.

Today’s Challenge is Bookish Would you Rather? by writingmyownfairytale.

Would you rather:
Lend books to someone who dog-ears pages or to someone who reads with cheesy Cheetos fingers?

Lend books to someone who dog-ears pages. Definitely. I can’t stand that orange powder, just no. Also, dog-ears pages don’t interfere with your reading, that “eatable” thing… it does.

Would you rather:
Be able to meet one character of your choice or meet one author of your choice?

Ok, this one is hard. I think I would rather meet one author of your choice. And I’m pretty sure it would someone related to fantasy or mystery, Carroll, Rowling, Christie, Conan Doyle, just some of them. I can’t choose right now, don’t ask me that.

Would you rather:
Never be allowed in a book store again or never be allowed in a library again?

Never be allowed in a book store again. I can pretty much live without one. I just love the enviroment of a library, the smell, the big bookshelves. I always remember Borges when I think about a library like an universe, like a maze.

Would you rather:
Have to choose one of your favorite characters to die in their book or have to pick one of your favorite couples to break up in their book?

Like a detective novel fan, I’m used to deaths, but it still hurts when a character dies. In the other hand, a break up full me with anger about the couple. So I’m gonna choose death. Of course, well written. I think is such a way to know how attached to the character you are; also, is always good to remember how everyone can die. (Except S.H., he is the exception).

Would you rather:
Be required to read Twilight once a year for the rest of your life or The Scarlet Letter once a year for the rest of your life?

Ok, this is just a personal thing, it’s about the plot. I would rather to read The Scarlet Letter. Just because I like (a lot) the story line.

Wednesday – Day 3
Pages I’ve read today: 30
Total pages I’ve read: 70
Chosen books:

  • 20000 leagues under the sea (Julio Verne): I’m reading a spanish translation. “20000 leguas de viaje submarino”; Plutón Ediciones.
  • I stil don’t have my second book.

Tday’s Challenge is the Rainbow Challenge by bookybecksa !

Here’s my tweet:

My books are:

Red: The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes
Orange: No! Jocks Don’t Date Guys
Yellow: Auntie Mame
Green: Cuentos de amor, locura y de muerte…
Blue: The Great Gatsy
Indigo: Cat Among the Pigeons
Violet: The Fall of the House of Usher and other Tales

Thursday – Day 4
Pages I’ve read today: 30+10
Total pages I’ve read: 110
Chosen books:

  • 20000 leagues under the sea (Julio Verne): I’m reading a spanish translation. “20000 leguas de viaje submarino”; Plutón Ediciones.
  • Superhero (Eli Easton). I really hope to finish this book.

Today’s Challenge is Villain Mash Up by bookbinges.

Here are the rules for the challenge:

  • Pick villains from two different books that you would love to see fight each other. It can be from any genre and it doesn’t even have to be a physical fight. It could be a verbal one as well.
  • Give a short reason why you think these villains should fight each other

Ok, I can’t put a complete explanation about my decision without give spoilers… so if you wanna know who exacty they are… google is your friend. Anyway… SPOILER ALERT. I don’t know how much I could explain without fall into that.

Like a detective novels fan it would be amazing if Moriarty and Lawrence Wargrave had a “fight”. Why I think like that? Moriarty is the “Napoleon of crime”, which is a big title and imply a great mind. In the other hand, Wargrave has a interesting reason to do what he “does/did” and himself as a person… He has a personality who, I think, wouldn’t feel intimidated by Moriarty. Why? Because he has a reason (L.W.) which is the strongest value for him.

I know that is awful the way that I just wrote, but it’s the only way to keep it “spoiler free”. Don’t throw me rotten tomatoes, please!

Friday – Day 5
Pages I’ve read today: 15+10
Total pages I’ve read: 135
Chosen books:

  • 20000 leagues under the sea (Julio Verne): I’m reading a spanish translation. “20000 leguas de viaje submarino”; Plutón Ediciones.
  • Superhero (Eli Easton). I really hope to finish this book.

Note: Since Tuesday I’m obsessed with this “little” friend because of Verne’s book, I just love it!

narval

Today’s Challenge is Book Scavenger Hunt, by thebookmonsters.

I just did (or make… I’m really sorry, those words are a big deal for me) two pictures:

2. A book you’re planning to read/currently reading for Bout of Books
3. A Book and a Beverage

 


Saturday – Day 6

Pages I’ve read today: 10+40
Total pages I’ve read: 185
Chosen books:

  • 20000 leagues under the sea (Julio Verne): I’m reading a spanish translation. “20000 leguas de viaje submarino”; Plutón Ediciones.
  • Superhero (Eli Easton). I really hope to finish this book.

Note: I’m really enjoying Superhero, more than I thought I would. I think I can finish it on time.

Today’s Challenge is the Comfy Reading Spot, by onceuponachapter. I know that my picture doesn’t look like the comfy place you could have thought, but I have reasons! First of all, It’s in my backyard because where I’m living it’s Summer, so high temperatures, another clue of that it’s the little blue fan right there. The second reason is that I don’t like to use “Internet Dictionaries” when I’m reading in my laptop, so I need space for my “Physical Dictionaries”. So, with all of that, of course this is my Comfy Reading Spot! (Little note: Yes, I know, I’ll have problems when the winter comes… but I’ll live the moment)

 


Sunday – Day 7

Pages I’ve read today: 15+29
Total pages I’ve read: 185
Chosen books:

  • 20000 leagues under the sea (Julio Verne): I’m reading a spanish translation. “20000 leguas de viaje submarino”; Plutón Ediciones.
  • Superhero (Eli Easton).

This was the last day. I’ve read 140 pages of Julio Verne’s book and I’ve finished “Superhero”. This was my first “Read-a-thon”, but not my last one; I’m really proud of myself for what I’ve accomplished. If you are reading this, don’t forget to join us to another “Read-a-Thon” at May 9th (Everything will be announced in boutofbooks) I’m really glad that I’m reading again, like I used to.

There’s no better way to start my year and this blog that with a “Read-a-Thon”. I’m looking foward the next one.

Thank you very much!

One thought on “Read-a-Thon Updates!

Leave a Reply

